The World as I know it – so far

My victory pose

My victory pose

I have just recently arrived, I am less than two weeks old. I must say that I am still a little stunned, but I am slowly, very slowly adjusting to this new world. The womb, my previous apartment, was a more comfortable space, but I soon realized that I was running out of space and the umbilical chord was around my neck and a pain in the neck.

The whole pregnancy thing was a difficult matter, so my parents say. From day 1 onward my life was in danger. My mother was close to having a miscarriage and she was admitted to the public hospital. She was prescribed bed-rest several times and they said that I had little chance of survival. I once appeared in my mother’s dream because of her ambivalent feelings towards me. It seems that my father was actually more responsible and he immediately accepted my growing presence in her womb, but my mother was at first hesitant.

My parents had to change doctors several times, but eventually they found one who they deemed experienced and trustworthy enough. They wanted the best for me. My mother then accepted my presence and started talking to me and once in a while I heard my Dad’s voice. He speaks to me in English while my mother speaks in her native Spanish. And guess what? My grandmother who has recently arrived is constantly talking to me in Farsi. I’m getting a little confused here!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The World as I know it – so far”

  1. Gaby Says:

    Hi baby with a weird name! I stil don’t know you but obviously you don’t know me either. But you dad told me about you when he knew you were comming! By the way I luve that pose on the picture! You could make it and thank to God you’re here… well, there in in your house LOL!

    Ask your parents to take care of you, while you depend on their arms to float… don’t worry, soon you’ll walk!

Leave a comment